Friday, August 7, 2020

Officers sworn in

When the Owatonna city council convened last week, it was to a larger crowd than usual. The Owatonna police force swore in eight officers and promoted one officer to sergeant.

“This is one of the most favorite things I get to do,” Police Chief Hiller said as he looked over the newest members of his force. Before he welcomed in the new officers though, he took a moment to recognize a veteran officer. Retired sergeant John Kristoffersen, 93, served on the Owatonna police force for 25 years and was present for the ceremony. Chief Hiller thanked him for his long years of service to the community.

When the official swearing got underway, Judge Joseph A. Bueltel came forward to officiate the new officers’ oaths. With the oath complete, a loved one came forward to pin each officer with their badge, and a blessing for safety was said over them.

After the swearing in, Chief Hiller recognized Jay Matejcek for his promotion to sergeant. Chief Hiller also handed two different commendations to officers who had done exemplary work.

See full story in this week’s print edition or subscribe online. Please subscribe here or current subscribers can login here.

Steele County Times & DCI

Steele County Times
411 E. Main St.
P.O. Box 247
Blooming Prairie, MN 55917

Dodge County Independent / ADvantage
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944

Dodge County Printing
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944


Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on the latest news!

Manage my subscriptions