Saturday, December 15, 2018


Notice is hereby given this 1st day of May 2017, pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 18.83 subp. 1 (2009), that all persons in Steele County, Minnesota, shall control or eradicate all noxious weeds on land they own, occupy or are required to maintain. Control or eradication may be accomplished by any lawful method but the method(s) applied may need to be repeated in order to prevent the spread of viable noxious weed seeds and other propagation parts to other lands. Failure to comply with the general notice may mean that an individual notice, Minnesota Statutes, Section 18.83, Subdivision 2 (2009) will be issued.  An individual notice may be appealed within two working days of receipt to the appeal committee in the county where the land is located.

Failure to comply with the individual notice will mean that the inspector having jurisdiction may either hire the work done or seek a misdemeanor charge against the person(s) who failed to comply. If the work is hired done by the inspector, the cost can be placed as a tax upon the land and collected as other real estate taxes are collected. The statewide noxious weed list provided by the Minnesota Department of Agriculture is for the following weeds: State Prohibited Noxious Weeds, Eradicate list; Yellow Starthistle, Grecian Foxglove and Oriental Bittersweet. State Prohibited Noxious Weeds, Control list; Purple Loosestrife, Garlic Mustard, Spotted Knapweed, Leafy Spurge, Wild Parsnip, Common Tansy, Canada Thistle, Musk Thistle and Plumeless Thistle. State Restricted Noxious Weeds; Common or European Buckthorn and Glossy Buckthorn. State Specially Regulated Plants; Poison Ivy. In addition to the statewide listed noxious weeds; Velvetleaf, Common Cocklebur, Black Nightshade and Wild Proso Millet have been approved for listing by the county board of commissioners as County-Listed Noxious Weeds in Steele County as permitted by Minnesota Statutes Section 18.79, Subdivisions 13 and 14. Local weed inspectors are township supervisors, city mayors or their appointed assistants. More information regarding the statewide listed noxious weeds and the Steele County noxious weeds list, the appeals committee members, the Minnesota Noxious weed Law and a list of County Agricultural Inspectors can be obtained by contacting the Steele County Agriculture Inspector or the Minnesota Department of Agriculture’s Web site at



Dan Vermilyea

Steele County Agricultural Inspector

630 Florence Ave.

Owatonna, MN. 55060 

Telephone: 507-444-7488 


See full story in this week’s print edition or subscribe online. Please subscribe here or current subscribers can login here.

Steele County Times & DCI

Steele County Times
411 E. Main St.
P.O. Box 247
Blooming Prairie, MN 55917

Dodge County Independent
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944

Dodge County Printing
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944


Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Greer Citizen newsletter feed