Tuesday, May 26, 2020
K-M graduate Zakh Peterson was sworn in by K-M School Board Chair Kent Harfmann as the newest member of the K-M School Board on Monday.

Kent Harfmann continues tenure as K-M School Board Chair

It was the first school board meeting of 2019 for the Kasson-Mantorville School Board on Monday night which meant it was also their annual organizationameeting.

During the meeting it was a chance for new school board members Zakh Peterson and Mark Torkelson to be sworn in as the newest members of the board after being elected in November.

Aside from swearing in new members of the board the meeting also gave the boara chance to vote on officer positions on the board.

These three positions include board chair, treasurer and clerk.

Being elected as board chair was Kent Harfmann who served as the chair last yearbeing elected as clerk was Steve Alvarado. Both of those elections came with no other nominations.

During the election of treasurer it became interesting. After Angie Richards was nominated she then nominated Brandon Madery for the position.

She turned down her nomination for the position citing that she served as treasurer last year and thought it would be good for another board member to serve in the role. Madery was given the position as no one ran against him.

In other news the board also approved their wages for 2019 including $1,300 for board chair and $1,000 for all other members. They also approved Home Federal Bank as their official depository and approved the DCI as their legal newspaper.


See full story in this week’s print edition or subscribe online. Please subscribe here or current subscribers can login here.

Steele County Times & DCI

Steele County Times
411 E. Main St.
P.O. Box 247
Blooming Prairie, MN 55917

Dodge County Independent
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944

Dodge County Printing
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944


Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Greer Citizen newsletter feed