Thursday, December 12, 2019
The K-M FCCLA had a very successful state conference after sending 15 of its members to the national competition.

K-M FCCLA sends 15 to nationals

Kasson-Mantorville High School has always had a proud tradition of success when it comes to its FCCLA program. That success continued again this year as 15 K-M FCCLA students will be heading to California in July after they qualified for nationals recently.

Nearly 1,000 students participated in 50 STAR Events (Students Taking Action with Recognition), categories with many receiving the option to qualify for the National FCCLA Conference at Anaheim in July.

On Friday night, members were recognized for their efforts in their STAR Events at the MN FCCLA Academy Awards. Those with qualifying scores were able to walk the “Walk of Stars” as they received their award. Saturday morning qualifying members were notified of their advancement to the 2019 National FCCLA Leadership Conference.

The following students qualified for nationals: Chapter in review display:  Andrea Richard and Jade Sands; Focus on children: Taylor Ludvigsen, Riley Briggs and Awtumn Theuer; Environmental ambassador: Ava Holtz and Matthew Harfmann; Interior design: Reid Sprieter and Cade Sprieter; Food innovations: Tanner Hall and Dalton Maxwell; Hospitality & tourism:  Trey Lindquist, Jake Anderson and Zach Jankoski and Job interview: Garsent Schorr.

Aside from competing in the different competitions, the state conference allows students to learn new things and also gives them a chance to network with other students.

“You get to meet other students across the state that you wouldn’t normally get to meet,” Andrea Richard said.

Outside of the state and national conferences, students that are apart of FCCLA also see many benefits to it, including being able to help out in the community.

“My favorite part is getting to do things around my community,” Reid Sprieter said.

For K-M FCCLA Advisor Michele Lindquist, she pointed to the best part of FCCLA as students being able to go outside of their comfort zones.

“They get to go outside of their comfort zones and do activities they normally wouldn’t do,” Lindquist said.

Other notable awards and recognitions that were given out to K-M students was Kinsey Koebele receiving the Minnesota Ultimate Leadership Award. Also during the state conference Hannah Hoff, was elected as the Southeast Area President and Katie Harfmann was elected to the  Minnesota State Peer Education Team.


See full story in this week’s print edition or subscribe online. Please subscribe here or current subscribers can login here.

Steele County Times & DCI

Steele County Times
411 E. Main St.
P.O. Box 247
Blooming Prairie, MN 55917

Dodge County Independent
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944

Dodge County Printing
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944


Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Greer Citizen newsletter feed