Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Lisa Hyland, who is a senior vice president for Federated Insurance, was named the 2020 Woman of Achievement by the Owatonna Business Women Friday night. Three other area professionals were finalists for the honor.

Hyland chosen woman of achievement

A veteran senior vice president at Federated Insurance has been named Owatonna’s Woman of Achievement for 2020.

Lisa Hyland received the top honor Friday night during the annual Woman of Achievement Scholarship Awards and Fundraiser at the Owatonna Country Club. Hyland serves as the director of human resources at Federated where she has been employed for the past 25 years.

In addition to leadership at work, Hyland is active in the Big Brothers Big Sisters organization. For the past 15 years, she has volunteered to prepare and serve weekly meals for about 150 community members through Bethel Church Community Supper. She has also helped to launch leadership development programs for women and Lean In Circles.

Hyland was nominated for the honor by a colleague who said she is a “champion of women within the company and the community. (She encourages) women to reach their full potential.”

Other women honored as finalists were Kristin Haberman, attorney and partner of Einhaus, Mattison, Carver & Haberman, PA; Barb Heerema, co-owner and CFO of Owatonna Granite and Monument and Lisa Kern, executive director for KODA Living Community.

The nominees submit written biographies and a synopsis of their careers as part of the evaluation for the top honor. They also complete an intense interview process with a panel of three professional women from outside the Steele County area.

Julianna Skluzacek was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award while Andi Arnold received the Young Careerist Award.

The Owatonna Business Women also presented various scholarships to aspiring women, graduating seniors and general education development.

Aracely Flores, Amber Friesen and Britt Schultz were the aspiring women scholarship recipients. Graduating senior scholarships went to Riauna Bishop, Baylee Sorensen and Julia Worke of Blooming Prairie and Julia Holt, Ruth Livingston, Emma Loveless and Kaitlyn Madole of Owatonna.

Owatonna Business Women began as a chapter of Business & Professional Women/USA, commonly known as BPW. The Owatonna chapter was one of the first in Minnesota in 1919. In the early 2000s, the BPW national association dissolved due to poor fiscal management. In 2011, members of the Owatonna BPW formed Owatonna Business Women.

The woman achievement award has been given out every year since 1972.

See full story in this week’s print edition or subscribe online. Please subscribe here or current subscribers can login here.

Steele County Times & DCI

Steele County Times
411 E. Main St.
P.O. Box 247
Blooming Prairie, MN 55917

Dodge County Independent
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944

Dodge County Printing
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944


Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Greer Citizen newsletter feed