Saturday, March 23, 2019


  Hey, there's a house on the move. Yes, there was a house rolling into town in Blooming Prairie last Wednesday, Jan. 16. The three-bedroom house was looking for a new home after it departed its location in south Owatonna. The house is owned by local developers Peter Vogt and Jake Vogt of J.D.Green...
Trevor Kruckeberg is the manager of Kruckeberg Services, which includes sanitation and recycling services. He is shown by a truck graphically wrapped by Trevor's brother's firm, KIK Graphics.
A couple of enterprising young men are raising the Kruckeberg name to higher business levels. These men just happen to be twins Trevor and Tyler Kruckeberg. The twins are 28 and have been involved in business circles at Minimizer for many of their younger years. Tyler is the owner of KIK Graphics,...
A veteran Steele County highway worker is under investigation after being involved in a crash while working last fall that caused more than $20,000 of damages to utility lines in Owatonna. County administrator Scott Golberg confirmed that David Jensen faces possible disciplinary action once an...
All those in attendance including members from the Dinka, Nuer, and Anyuak tribes, gather for a group photo celebrating the covenant and the peaceful ties these groups all currently enjoy away from the civil strife plaguing their country.
On Saturday, Jan. 26, Our Savior’s Lutheran Church in Owatonna hosted a landmark signing. The signing established a covenant between the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America and the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Africa-Mission in South Sudan. There to sign the covenant were Rev. Dr. Rafael...
Times publisher Rick Bussler, left, and Alex Malm, editor at the Dodge County Independent in Kasson, accept 13 awards on behalf of both newspapers Thursday night in Bloomington. The Times was honored with seven awards while the DCI picked up six.
Keeping up on a tradition spanning eight years, the Steele County Times has been awarded seven top awards for journalistic excellence in the Minnesota Newspaper Association’s annual Better Newspaper Contest. The Times received the awards Thursday night at the annual awards banquet of MNA in...
Blooming Prairie Technology Coordinator Erik Vigeland gave a presentation on the district’s new surveillance system at the monthly school board meeting on Tuesday, Jan. 22. The system was improved at the high school, while 16 cameras were added at the elementary school. “It’s just nice to have...
BP’s Maren Forystek shoots a 3-pointer against Chatfield earlier this season.
The Blooming Prairie girls dropped their second straight game when Kingsland used its home court advantage to down the the Awesome Blossoms, 69-58. The non-conference contest marked another game in a stretch of tough games in the BP season schedule. The Blossoms got down early when the Knights...
Students in grades 5-8 in Blooming Prairie Schools participated in the 28th Annual Blooming Prairie District Spelling Bee on Wednesday afternoon, Jan. 9. There were 24 participants and three alternates. Pictured, back row, left to right: Jayden Van, Ethan Marzolf, Gabe Hein, Madison Lea, Abby Smith, Ty Forystek, Anna Pauly, Addison Doocy, Grace Krejci, Abigail Hefling; middle row: Jacob Pauly, Carter Bishop, Jaylee Schleicher, Caitlyn Stangl, Catelyn Bartlett, Samantha Hefling, Ella Smith, Zoe Ehlers, Bo Zw
It took 14 rounds before a champion was crowned in the 28th annual Blooming Prairie District Spelling Bee at the Blooming Prairie Elementary School on Wednesday, Jan. 9. Seventh grader Jaylee Schleicher won the competition in the 14th round by correctly spelling the word ARMADA. She is the daughter...
Actors Mark Valley, left, and Jay Christianson, right, pose with the director of Garrow, a drama released last month. Christianson is a 1979 graduate of Blooming Prairie High School.
His acting career began with a role as Prince Charming in the Blooming Prairie High School musical, Cinderella. "I didn't want to do it but my drama teacher encouraged me to take the part," recalls Jay Alan Christianson, a 1979 graduate of Blooming Prairie High School and now a professional actor....
The city of Blooming Prairie welcomed in a new mayor for the first time in 15 years on Jan. 14 at the city council meeting.  Mayor Curtis Esplan and incumbent council members Bill Newman and Brad Clark took the oath of office inside the council chambers just after 7 p.m. Esplan received 469 votes...


Steele County Times & DCI

Steele County Times
411 E. Main St.
P.O. Box 247
Blooming Prairie, MN 55917

Dodge County Independent
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944

Dodge County Printing
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944


Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Greer Citizen newsletter feed