Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Triton students honored for achievements

Triton High School honored its students last week at the annual Fine Arts and Academic Awards Night.

Principal Craig Schlicting announced the Triple A Award winners and the recipient of the Principal’s Leadership Award.

The Triple A Award is presented to a Triton High School male and female senior student for their dedication, effort and excellence in academics, athletics and the arts.

Receiving the award for 2016 were Garrett Dahms and Haley Yankowiak.

The Principal’s Leadership Award is presented to a senior student who has gone above and beyond in demonstrating leadership among the student body.

This year’s award recipient was Stephanie Krause.


Academic Letters

Academic letters are awarded to Triton students that achieve a 3.5 GPA for three consecutive quarters in an academic year, with no grades lower than a B.

Additionally students must meet all Minnesota State High School League requirements, meet acceptable attendance standards and apply for this award.

Academic letter winners for 2016 include Academic Letters: Olivia Anderson, Maddie Boe, Kaylin Boettcher, Tatyanna Bond, Garrett Dahms, Natalie Donner, Kylie Franko, Nell Graham, Allissa Hallaway, Max Henderson, Mackenzie Hickey, Claudia Hodgman,.

Johnathon Jaeger, McKenna Jennings, Drew Kelly, Isaak Knutson, Karissa Knutson, Kindra Knutson, Stephanie Krause, Kindra Kubat, Mariah Lang, Conzi Lehmann.

Grace Lumsden, Shelby Maloney, Molly McCool, Makenna Meyers, Elle Myer, Kryielle Peterson, Rhylan Peterson, Abrielle Robinson, Kylie Robinson, McKenna Rubin, Katie Scherger, Jacelyn Schley, Nicholas Simonette, Cairlyn Sowieja, Gabriela Staub, Brianna Stebbins, Kaleb Strom, Jaden Thieman, Craig Weber, Hunter Welch, Colleen West, Courtney West, Tori Winter, Noah Woxland, Haley Yankowiak, Kiley Yankowiak, Olivia Zill.


Honors Awards

Students graduating with High Distinction have earned a grade point average of 3.667 or high.

For the Class of 2016 this includes Jacob Blair, Garrett Dahms, Max Henderson, Claudia Hodgman, Kindra Knutson, Emily Round, Brianna Stebbins, Craig Weber and Haley Yankowiak.

Seniors graduating with distinction have a grade point average of 3 to 3.666.

This year’s honors students include Ella Blaisdell, Jack Crowson, Jordana Foote, Charles Groll, Vanessa Head, Cayla Heald, Laila Hernandz, Aaron Jennings, Preslie Johnston, Sondra Kasel.

Stephanie Krause, Kendra McNeilus, Kortney McNeilus, Morgan Mealy, Isaak Nicklay, Julian Reyes, Madelyn Robinson, McKenna Rubin, Jaden Thiemann and Isaiah Wannarka.


Society of Women Engineers Certificates of Merit

The Triton High School math and science teachers vote on one junior female and one senior female to receive this award each year. The students must have participated in at least three years of math and science courses and completed them with distinction. They must also be active citizens in their school and community. Receiving the awards for 2016 were Junior Maddie Boe and Senior McKenna Rubin.

Fine Arts Award

Band Teacher Markus Hahn, Choir Teacher Craig Anderson and Theater Advisor and English Teacher John Schreiber announced the Fine Arts Awards for those in band, choir and theater.

The John Philip Sousa Band Award is the most prestigious award for high school band students. It is given to a senior who has shown outstanding leadership and performance in the Triton High School band. The award is determined by the band students.

Recipient of the John Philip Sousa Award was Jacob Blair.

The Louis Armstrong Jazz Award is given to a senior who demonstrates superior musicianship, character and individual creativity through their participation in the Triton Jazz Band. Award recipient was Nathaniel Forcelle.

The National School Choral Award is given to one senior male and one senior female involved in the Triton High School Choir program. The awards are considered to denote the “Most Valuable Singers” and are voted on by choir students.

Recipients were Haley Yankowiak and Max Henderson.

Carol Johnson, a member of the Monday Musicale, presented the Monday Musicale Award to Candy Utech.

Monday Musicale is a local group that has been in existence since 1932. Members meet monthly in Dodge Center. The award is to honor a student that has been actively involved in the music program throughout their high school career. 

A number of theater awards for 2016-2017 were presented.

Awards included:

Best Actor in a Lead Role

Charles Groll 

Best Actress in a Lead Role

Jacelyn Schley

Best Actress in a Lead Role 

Kiana Komatsu 

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Sepharah Bond

Best Actor in a Supporting Role 

Rhylan Peterson 

Best Actress in a Featured Role 

Emmily Wilson 

Best Actor in a Featured Role 

Noah Woxland 

Contribution to Theater 

Matthew Hoberg

Contribution to Theater 

Taylor Schandorff

Scholarship Awards

Scholarships announced included:

BPA Superior Performance: McKenna Jennings, Kayce Redican, Deacon Schlichting and Courtney West (sophomores).

Center Clinic, Madelyn Robinson Claremont American Legion Auxiliary, Isaak Nicklay, Dodge Center Alumni, Garrett Dahms and Stephanie Krause; Dodge Center Lions, Jordana Foote and McKenna Rubin; Donald L. Sanford Memorial, Jack Crowson; Dr. D.E.Olson Memorial, McKenna Rubin; Henslin Memorial, four year- Morgan Cohenour, two year – Mikayla Austin and Kayla Dostal.

Innovative Seed and Consulting, LLC, Jacob Blair; Kasson-Mantorville Masonic Lodge, Kindra Knutson; KMTelecom, Ella Blaisdell and Charles Groll; Logan Maas Pay It Forward, Kindra Knutson; Mantorville Restoration Association, Laila Hernandez and Max Henderson; Mark Deyo, Sabryn Dostal;  Mary Delzer, Kesley Sexton; Natalie Thornton Web Memorial, Isaak Nicklay; People’s Energy Coop, Stephanie Krause; Steele-Waseca Cooperative Electrict, Craig Weber.

Sylvia A. Joyce Memorial, Cayla Heald; Taher, Julian Reyes; Triton Booster Club, Claudia Hodgman and Emmily Wilson; Triton Foundation, Claudia Hodgman, Emily Round and Haley Yankowiak; Verna Musolf Memorial, Samantha Knutson; Vernon Edda  Insurance, Morgan Mealy; Warren Buss Memorial, Stephanie Krause, Isaak Nicklay and Craig Weber; West Concord American Legion Auxiliary, Garrett Dahms; William C. Schottler Memorial, Craig Weber; Open Arms Yellow Ribbon, Kindra Knutson; Young Minds Change Lives: Red Cross, Kindra Knutson


See full story in this week’s print edition or subscribe online. Please subscribe here or current subscribers can login here.

Steele County Times & DCI

Steele County Times
411 E. Main St.
P.O. Box 247
Blooming Prairie, MN 55917

Dodge County Independent
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944

Dodge County Printing
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944


Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Greer Citizen newsletter feed