Monday, May 25, 2020

Crash victim walks Grand March at BPHS Prom

Nothing was going to deter Blooming Prairie High School junior Megan Grunklee from participating in the 2017 BPHS Prom Grand March on Saturday afternoon, April 29.

Let’s go back to Feb. 19, 2017. On that date, Megan was involved in a severe one-vehicle accident near Waseca.

Megan suffered a spinal cord injury and a shattered pelvis. She has been out of school since that date. 

Her parents are Scott and Lana Grunklee of rural Blooming Prairie.

Fellow BPHS student Haley Ryks brought Megan to Blooming Prairie High School on Saturday afternoon to signal the beginning of the 2017 Prom Weekend. Haley walked the Grand March with Megan.

Megan was using a walker to navigate but that did not dim her enthusiasm for the special day. Many of her fellow students encouraged her to come to Prom.

Megan was part of the photo craziness in the commons area before the Grand March which occurred in the school gymnasium. Prom goers posed for selfies and also accommodated mom and dad for photos.

Megan wasn’t the only Prom goer who needed help traveling the march. Ben Smith, accompanying Leah Schiefert, walked the Grand March with the help of crutches. He suffered a broken leg about three weeks ago.

Masters of Ceremony for the Grand March were Payton Hatch and Jeremy Hocking. They introduced Prom attendees. Prom couples entered below a decorative arch, walked a path over a wooden bridge and then traversed to a swing at a conclusion of the Grand March.

Colorful decorations for the event were the creations of the junior class.

Here’s a roster of the Prom couples participating in the Grand March:

Taylor Peterson and Tommy Braaten, Haley Naatz and Camden Heimerman, Marnie Reese and Colton Krell, Elly Strunk and Zac Olson, Rose Joohnson and Clint Peterson, Laura Grant and Wyatt Grundmeier, Marti Snider and Quentin Kubista, Courtney Wobschall and Elijah Baker, Leah Inwards and Jack Schultz, Kylie Forystek and Oakley Baker;

Leah Schiefert and Ben Smith, Alison Pryor and Evan Doerhoefer, Bria Baldwin and Bryan Fristedt, Marissa Larson and Seth Bedenbaugh, Alicia Ptacek and Bradley Staska, Rachel Kubicek and Trai Wicks, Kayleigh Douglass and Luis Gomez, Sasha Katzung and Jessica Ferguson, Rachel Peterson and Carter Millam, Taylor Christianson and Derek Larson;

Kaley Camerer and Zach Sisler, Brianna Arthaud and Maxwell Romeo, Jeannette Lozano and Connor Getchell, Diasia Young and Alex Dessner, Kiaya Wallin and Thomas Burke, Elizabeth Brandstedt and Austin Christians, Danielle Hatten and Colin Nelson, Jasmine Anderson and Rachel Peterson, Brittany Boyd and Kara Drees, Haley Ryks and Megan Grunklee.

Bianco Angell and Jacob Gwilt, Haley Bridges and Nick Thompson, Asia Thostenson and Jon Herron, Elizabeth Bordeaux and Zavier Campos, Rylee Fawver and Kristian Hammersma, Jerrin Jax and Alec Ille, Riauna Bishop and Cameron Kubista, Hope Benike and Jack Abbe, Rachel Pirkl and Kory Rafdal, Linnea Sunde and Martin Morem;

McKenna Hein and Maxwell Romeo, Ayren Ingvalson and Austin Behne, Emma Christianson and Jake Ressler and Samantha Wurst and Gabe Hagen.

Following the Grand March, Prom goers boarded two buses to head to Stillwater where they planned to board a river boat. After the boat excursion, students went to the Grand Slam, a recreational center in the Twin Cities.

See full story in this week’s print edition or subscribe online. Please subscribe here or current subscribers can login here.

Steele County Times & DCI

Steele County Times
411 E. Main St.
P.O. Box 247
Blooming Prairie, MN 55917

Dodge County Independent
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944

Dodge County Printing
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944


Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Greer Citizen newsletter feed