Monday, August 3, 2020



For the second time in four years, the state wrestling title is in the hands of Kasson-Mantorville.

K-M captured the 2016 Class AA wrestling championship Thursday night in St. Paul by easily defeating Foley 37-21. 

The KoMets also won the state title in 2013.

Here are the results from the championship title meet: 

106 - Nathan Garceau (Foley) over Robby Horsman (Kasson-Mantorville) Dec 7-6

113 - Jared Johnson (Kasson-Mantorville) over Cameron Kowitz (Foley) Dec 7-4

120 - John Dierkes (Foley) over Brady Laumb (Kasson-Mantorville) SV-1 8-6

126 - Keaton Schorr (Kasson-Mantorville) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf 

132 - Garsen Schorr (Kasson-Mantorville) over Mitch Rothfork (Foley) UTB 4-3

138 - Isaac Haman (Kasson-Mantorville) over Taylor Jurek (Foley) Dec 3-0

145 - Patrick Kennedy (Kasson-Mantorville) over Justin Henry (Foley) Maj 15-6

152 - Noah Lefebvre (Foley) over Ethan Shea (Kasson-Mantorville) Dec 5-3

160 - Brady Berge (Kasson-Mantorville) over Simon Bryce (Foley) Fall 1:17

170 - Spencer Elwell (Foley) over Andy Bigelow (Kasson-Mantorville) Fall 5:53

182 - Aaron Berge (Kasson-Mantorville) over Dakota McIver (Foley) Fall 0:28

195 - Noah Ryan (Kasson-Mantorville) over Tyson Gothman (Foley) Fall 4:37

220 - Saylor Schmit (Foley) over Jim Paulson (Kasson-Mantorville) Dec 6-2

285 - Tryston Bemboom (Foley) over Brett Paulson (Kasson-Mantorville) Dec 6-3.


The Independent will have expanded coverage of the state wrestling meet in next week’s edition.


See full story in this week’s print edition or subscribe online. Please subscribe here or current subscribers can login here.

Steele County Times & DCI

Steele County Times
411 E. Main St.
P.O. Box 247
Blooming Prairie, MN 55917

Dodge County Independent / ADvantage
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944

Dodge County Printing
121 West Main St.
Kasson, MN 55944


Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Greer Citizen newsletter feed